Dawn of Solace

When Before the Dawn was preparing to record the third album “The Ghost“, Tuomas Saukkonen realised that he had over 30 songs written. First idea was to simply make a double album but some of the material written started to sound too slow and dark for the usual Before the Dawn-style and Tuomas decided to push that darker direction a bit further and form a completely new project called Dawn of Solace. The critically acclaimed debut album, titled “The Darkness“, got released in May 2006 and featured Before the Dawn vocalist Lars Eikind on clean vocals and Jukka Salovaara on guest vocals and solo guitar. After the album got released, several issues with the label forced the project to go on a hiatus for an undefined amount of time.

It took 13 long years and 14 written albums until an idea of a song came up that lit the flame to bring Dawn of Solace back from over a decade of rest. Time took care of the issues with labels and legally the band was free but 13 years had not taken away the crushing sadness that inspired the debut.

After the floodgate opened, the writing process for the album went really easy and fast and most of the music was composed during the final recordings as a rather free stream of thoughts instead of a result of carefully planned and long timed pre-production. “Waves” came out to be an honest picture of the current times for its writer. Grey, heavy and dark but still sorrow carrying certain beauty and strength and it saw the cold light of day January 24th 2020 on the new German record label Noble Demon.

Waves” featured Mikko Heikkilä (Black Sun Aeon, Kaunis Kuolematon) as vocalist taking over all vocal duties and Lars Eikind (Before the Dawn) as guest vocalist for one song. Also Jukka Salovaara and Danny Tunker appeared on the album as guest solo guitarists. Already while recording “Waves” it was clear that Dawn of Solace was brought back to life and this time without the passing of another decade between the albums, since the third full-length record, titled “Flames Of Perdition“, was released in January 2022.

As life itself the darkness of Dawn of Solace has evolved and taken few steps towards the void, still keeping the music rich with melodies and full of melancholy. This time with an extra amount of solitude that we all have gotten to know during the past 1,5 years.

Album releases on the Noble Demon label:

EP release on the Noble Demon label:

Single releases on the Noble Demon label:


Current videos:

Event Horizon (Studio Live Acoustic Version)

White Noise (unplugged)

Flames Of Perdition (Official Lyric Video)

Event Horizon (Official Music Video)

Skyline (Official Music Video)

White Noise (feat. Jukka Salovaara) [Official Video]

Numb (Live Cabin Version)

Ghost (Official Live Studio Video)

Hiding (Official Music Video)

Ashes (Official Lyric Video)

Lead Wings (Official Music Video)

Tuomas Saukkonen about Dawn of Solace


🎵 The label “Noble Demon” releases label sampler and announces new signings

Like the approaching holiday season, the release of the annual Noble Demon label compilation has turned into a festive tradition itself! Now three years old and growing steadily, the German label has proven that they came to stay. Founded by former Nuclear Blast veteran Patrick Walch and with a steady stream of new signings from all around the world, Noble Demon has been…


🎵 The album “Flames of Perdition” by “Dawn of Solace” enters the official physical album charts at #9 in Finland

Congratulations to the Finnish band Dawn of Solace for entering the official physical album charts at #9 as well as #27 on the official (digital + physical) album charts in Finland! The album “Flames Of Perdition” was released worldwide in spring 2022 on the German label Noble Demon. The album consists of 8 tracks (+…


🎵 The 3rd album “Flames of Perdition” by “Dawn of Solace” available from today (Noble Demon)

Today, Dawn of Solace, the solo-project by Wolfheart’s Tuomas Saukkonen, release their anticipated third studio album “Flames of Perdition” via Noble Demon. With eight brand new tracks (+ two bonus songs), the album delivers exactly what you would expect to get from the death and goth metal icon: beautiful melodies and a breathtaking atmosphere of…